top of page
Search

Top Tips Nobody Told You About Learning To Play The Piano (1)

Updated: Oct 21, 2021

Many people think that playing the piano is too complicated. The most common frustration I hear is, “how do you co-ordinate both hands together? I can play them apart, but could never do it together.” Others think that they are past it because they gave up as a child. They think that only children can learn or only certain people who have a ‘gift’ for music will be successful. People have many reasons why they think that they can’t play. And so they never do. Maybe this is you.


Well, can I encourage you?


As a professional composer, arranger and teacher, I can tell you that this isn’t true. If you are 17 or 77, you can learn to play the piano. If you can read music or have no idea, you can learn to play. If you can tap along to a song in time or think that you are tone deaf, you can learn to play.


This is the first of a series of blog posts to give you some tips to help you on your journey. I’ll link to some pieces that you can play, as well as giving you some of my free pieces to help. I’m also working on my first book which will give you lessons from the very start of playing and take you step by step through one lesson to the next - but rather than coming to my studio in person, we can meet through my book! More on that in later posts. But, in these blog posts I'll give you a taste and hope to inspire you!


When my parents gave me a package of driving lessons for my 21st Birthday, I was scared. Not because I was afraid of the road, but because I thought the teacher would expect me to know how to drive when I went to my first lesson. Of course, I realise now that my fear was completely irrational. It was founded on misguided information. You don’t need to be able to drive to take lessons. That’s what the lessons are for! But I thought I did and so felt unprepared and under-confident. If it wasn’t for my parents encouraging me to go, I don’t think I would have.


In my experience, many people are like this with the piano. They think that they need to be able to play already to have lessons. But, that isn’t true. If you don’t know how to read music, to name the keys on the piano, to count rhythms, that’s okay! Actually, it’s more than okay. It’s expected.


Here is my first top tips that no-one told you about learning to play the piano. These are the tools you will need before you begin to play your first piece and every other piece, so take time to internalise them and have fun! Your first performance will be moments away! Keep an eye out for the next blog and get ready for success!


Here goes!


1. Don’t worry!


I start here because I want to say that this journey is yours. Playing the piano is your journey for your enjoyment. It's important to remember this as, like me and driving, it's easy to almost talk yourself out of doing it because you don't think you're good enough, progressing enough or ... (you fill in the blank). I want you to begin with the correct expectations. You are not supposed to know anything. I am going to take you from nowhere to somewhere; from knowing nothing to knowing a lot about the piano. I'm going to give you tips (and a book in time to give you even more information and help) that will enable YOU to play the piano! Yes, you!


So, sit back and enjoy. Don't skim the tips and go straight to the latter ones where you get to play! These early foundations are crucial. Like a house that has good foundations, you need to have these foundations to have a successful journey as a piano player, whatever you hope to get out of it.


Until next time (when we'll talk about fingers!)


Julia


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Making a unique arrangement

As an arranger, something that I often think about is making a piece my own. I want to sound like 'me' even when I'm using a popular tune that everyone knows. This is true of one of my most popular do

bottom of page